Photo by Sergey Semin on Unsplash

How Much are Puppies at Petland?

There are almost 100 Petland locations in the United States. Yesterday, I was entranced into one of them.

Sky
3 min readFeb 7, 2022

--

I’m a dog mama to my fiancé’s and I’s dog, Milo. Recently we have discussed finding Milo a friend so he has company other than us. Yesterday morning, I woke up with puppy fever. My fiancé and I decided to begin our dog search! First we visited two different local animal shelters. The first one had mixed breed puppies available for adoption. They were $150, which included their vaccines, spay/neuter, and microchip. We thought that was super reasonable, but we didn’t find one we thought would pair well with our Milo.

We visited the next shelter. They did not have puppies but they had at least 50 loveable dogs. Most were $75 which included their vaccines and spay/neuter. Some were even $10 because they had been in the shelter so long. We met a couple of the dogs but did not find one we truly felt a bond with.

We gave up on our search for the day and ran some errands we had. As we were about to head home, we saw a Petland. Neither of us had been to one before, but we both had heard that they were basically a puppy department store. We decided to stop in.

We walked inside and saw many pure bred puppies stacked all along a wall to our left in…

--

--